2018 Planning Committee

Mary Rogers, PhD, Chair
Assistant Professor
Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, Horticultural Science
University of Minnesota
roge0168@umn.edu

Alyssa Banks
Program Manager, Food Security
Greater Twin Cities United Way
alyssa.banks@gtcuw.org

Fernando Burga, PhD
Assistant Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
University of Minnesota
hburga@umn.edu

Valentine Cadieux, PhD
Assistant Professor and Director of Sustainability and Environmental Studies
Hamline University
kvcadieux01@hamline.edu

Sara Gragg, PhD
Assistant Professor
Food Science Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
Kansas State University
saragragg@ksu.edu

Karl Hakanson
Hennepin County Extension Agriculture Educator
University of Minnesota Extension/Urban Research and Outreach Engagement Center
khakanso@umn.edu

Emily Hoover, PhD
Professor
College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, Horticultural Science
University of Minnesota
hoover@umn.edu

Kristine Igo
Associate Institute Director
Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute
University of Minnesota
kigo@umn.edu

Nicolas Jelinski, PhD
Assistant Professor
Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, College of, Soil, Water, and Climate
University of Minnesota
jeli0026@umn.edu

Rhonda Layer
Program Director
College of Continuing and Professional Studies
University of Minnesota
layer006@umn.edu

Helene Murray, PhD
Manager
College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, Agronomy/Plant Genetics
University of Minnesota
hmurray@umn.edu

Londa Nwadike, PhD
Assistant Professor and State Extension Food Safety Specialist
Kansas State University
lnwadike@ksu.edu

Kimberly Oxley
Research Associate
Food Systems Symposium Coordinator
Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources
Kansas State University
koxley@ksu.edu

Eleni Pliakoni, PhD, 2016 Chair
Assistant Professor
Urban Food Production and Postharvest Handling, Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources
Kansas State University
epliakoni@ksu.edu

Cary Rivard
Associate Professor, Fruit and Vegetable Extension Specialist and Director of Olathe Horticulture Research & Extension Center
Kansas State University
crivard@ksu.edu

Julie Schmitz
Program Associate
College of Continuing and Professional Studies
University of Minnesota
jschmitz@umn.edu

Candice Shoemaker, PhD
Department Head and Professor
Department of Horticulture and Natural Resources
Kansas State University
cshoemak@ksu.edu

Gaston E. Small, PhD
Assistant Professor
College of Arts and Sciences, Biochemistry
University of Saint Thomas
gaston.small@stthomas.edu

Leoma Van Dort
Research Assistant
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
University of Minnesota
vando052@umn.edu

UFSS 2018 IS HOSTED BY:

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH:

UFSS LOCATION

Graduate Minneapolis Hotel
615 Washington Ave SE
Minneapolis, MN 55414

SYMPOSIUM FARM TOUR LOCATION

COMING SOON

Don't miss out on UFSS 2018 happenings. Sign up for our email newsletter below:

* indicates required